Anglican Communion

In Canada, our church is called the Anglican Church of Canada.  We belong to a world-wide network of Anglican Christians from 160 countries.  While the church is known as either the Anglican or Episcopal Church, depending on the region, Anglican Christians are part of the wider Anglican Communion, unified under the symbolic leadership of the Archbishop of Canterbury in England.

Anglican Church of Canada

The Anglican Church of Canada (ACC) is divided into four regional groupings called Provinces. Within each province there are a number of Dioceses. Each diocese has its own bishop (or bishops), who have the overall responsibility for the spiritual well-being and administration of the churches within the area.

In Canada, about 800,000 Anglicans worship in 31 dioceses, from Vancouver Island to Iqaluit, Nunavut, to St. John’s, Newfoundland. The senior Archbishop of the national church is called the “Primate”.

Primate of the ACC National Governance
The Province of British Columbia & Yukon

The Ecclesiastical Province of British Columbia and Yukon is one of four Ecclesiastical Provinces in the Anglican Church of Canada, the other three being the Ecclesiastical Provinces of Rupert's LandOntario, and Canada.  

The province is headed by the Metropolitan. Archbishop Lynne McNaughton was elected 13th Metropolitan of the Province on March 6, 2021 and was officially installed on September 17, 2021. 

Province of British Columbia & Yukon

Canadian Diocesan Map