Click here to see a map of the Diocese and its regions.

North Okanagan Region

This region runs north-south along Highway 97 and 97A from Vernon to Sicamous; east-west long Highway 1 from Revelstoke to Chase; east-west along the “old Kamloops road” from Westwold to Vernon and along Highway 6 from Vernon to Edgewood.  Vernon is the largest city in the region.  The main economic bases of the area are services related to retired seniors, tourism, farming and logging.

The parishes are:

  • All Saints, Vernon (including Christ Church, Falkland and St. Luke, Westwold)

  • St. John the Evangelist, Salmon Arm/Sicamous

  • St. Mary’s, Sorrento (Shared Ministry Anglican/UCC)

  • St. James, Armstrong/St. George’s, Enderby

  • St. David’s-by-the-Lake, Celista (Shared Ministry Anglican/UCC)

The Sorrento Retreat and Conference Centre is located in this region and participates in regional gatherings.  This centre is not owned by the Diocese of Kootenay.

Central Okanagan Region

This region extends north and south in the Okanagan Valley, from Oyama to Peachland, a distance of about 50 km.  Located in the centre of the fruit-growing and wine-making area of BC, the region enjoys a moderate climate and a wide range of economic activity based on agriculture, light industry, technology and tourism.  The mobile, internet-based computer industry has recently seen strong development due to the areas desirability as a place of residence. Retirees are also a strong presence for the same reason.  Kelowna has been enjoying a strong economic and population growth period for a number of years, particularly in the more affluent areas.

The parishes are:

  • St. Michael and All Angels in downtown Kelowna has been the diocesan cathedral since 1987

  • St. Francis, Lake Country

  • St. Mary’s, East Kelowna

  • St. Andrew’s, Okanagan Mission

  • St. Margaret’s, Peachland

  • St. George’s, Westbank (West Kelowna)

South Okanagan Region

This region of the diocese is a desert steppe area.  The region runs north-south from Summerland to Osoyoos, and west to Princeton.  Its main industries include vineyards, orchards, tourism and services to retired seniors.

The parishes are:

  • St. Saviour’s, Penticton (including St. John the Divine, Keremeos Worshipping Community)

  • St. Peter’s, Naramata (Shared Ministry Anglican/UCC)

  • St. Barbara’s, Okanagan Falls

  • St. Edward the Confessor, Oliver

  • St. Christopher, Osoyoos

  • St. Stephen’s, Summerland

West Kootenay Region 

This region is located in the south-central part of the diocese in West Kootenay.  The largest part of the region lies along the Columbia River from the south end of the Arrow Lakes to the U.S. border.  It then spreads eastward to Salmo and westward to Rock Creek.  East and west are separated by the Monashee mountains accessed by Hwy 3.  The region has four parishes and twelve congregations.  The industries of the region have mainly been forestry, mining, smelting, pulp and hydroelectric production.  Today recreation and tourism are becoming a major factor.

The parishes are:

  • Valhalla Parish: St. David’s, Castlegar and St. Stephen, New Denver (Worshipping Community)

  • Kootenay Summits Parish: St. Andrew's, Trail; St.George, Rossland; St. John the Evangelist, Fruitvale; and St. Paul, Salmo

  • Boundary Parish: Holy Trinity, Grand Forks; St. Mary’s, Kettle Valley; and St. Jude’s, Greenwood

  • Kokanee Parish: St. Saviour’s Pro-Cathedral, Nelson and St. Mark’s, Kaslo

  • Christ Church, Creston

East Kootenay Region

This region stretches from Golden on the Trans-Canada Highway #1 south down the Rocky Mountain trench to Cranbrook, eastward along Hwy 3 to Fernie and westward along Hwy 3 to Creston.  It is roughly 350 km from Golden to Fernie or Creston.

The parishes are:

  • Windermere Valley Shared Ministry (Anglican/UCC)

  • All Saints’, Kimberley

  • Christ Church, Cranbrook (including St. Paul’s, Golden Worshipping Community)

  • Fernie Anglican-United Shared Ministry


Worshipping Communities are defined as “a group of people in communion with the Anglican Church of Canada and under the jurisdiction of the Anglican Synod of the Diocese of Kootenay that meets regularly for worship.”  As of this date, there are three recognized Worshipping Communities each under the sponsorship of a nearby congregation.  (New Denver, Golden and Keremeos).

An ecumenical Shared Ministry is people worshipping and serving God in a unified way while still maintaining their denominational identity and connections.