The Commission is responsible for the administration and operation of the Diaconal Formation and Training Programme for the Ordination of Deacons in the Diocese of Kootenay.


The Commission shall consist of:

  • two Deacons, one Presbyter and a Layperson, appointed by the Bishop, one of the above must be the Director of Deacons for the Diocese, who shall be chair of the Commission.

  • the Bishop of the Diocese of Kootenay is a member ex officio.

  • one of the Deacons on the Commission will also be a member of the Archbishop’s Committee on Ministry.

Duties and Responsibilities

The Commission shall:

  • be responsible for interviewing candidates, writing reports regarding candidates, and ensuring that both the candidates and their Parishes meet the requirements of the Programme.

  • be responsible for carrying out the Parish trainings, which are a part of the Diaconal Programme.

  • be responsible for updating the Diaconal Programme in a timely manner and seeing that it is distributed to interested parties.

  • provide educational materials and expertise to Parishes and to the Diocese.

  • prepare a budget, to be presented to the Diocesan Budget Preparation Committee, for each year to cover the costs of travel for the Commission and for the ongoing costs of administering the Diaconal Programme.


The Commission will conduct most of its meetings by conference call and e-mail.

Face to face meetings shall be called as required.

Members of the Commission are:

  • The Ven. Christine Ross, Diocesan Director of Deacons and Chair

  • The Reverend Deacon Elizabeth Lewis

  • Mrs. Alida Privett

  • The Reverend Alan Akehurst

For more information, please contact:

The Ven. Christine Ross, Deacon
Director of Deacons
1667 Sonora Drive
Kelowna, B.C.

(250) 762-8408    clross@telus.net